$20 Modest Outfit Challege

Hey y’all! I hope you’ve had a wonderful week. Today I’m sharing an outfit I bought for under $20 as part of ModestlyHot.com’s challenge!

My sister and I hit Our Thrift Store in Franklin, TN between doctors appointments last week and boy did we score some great pieces! 
 
While buying them, I didn’t expect to wear these two pieces together, but when I went to my closet to find something for this challenge these this shirt and skirt jumped together and I had an outfit in literally 3.5 minutes. 

Although I think lace is super pretty, a lot of these “lace-backed” jackets/shirts I see are super awkward when layered to be modest, so I stay away from them… or I did, until I found this one! The crochet design is tight enough to be modest, but pretty enough to make a gorgeous statement. 

// outfit details //
Wet Seal brand shirt: $4 
Abercrombie and Fitch brand skirt: $3
Forever 21 tank: $1.80
B.O.C. brand sandals from ThredUP: $7.99
Earrings from Walmart (3-pack): $3
Necklace was my great grandmother’s.
Grand Total: $19.79

 Thank you, Ashley, for this awesome challenge! It was fun to pull together an outfit and remind myself it’s totally possible to be covered, cute, and cost-effective! 🙂

 photo 20.jpg
How bout y’all? If you had to take a rough guess, what do you think the average total per outfit you wear would be?

21 thoughts on “$20 Modest Outfit Challege

  1. MB says:

    Op (thrift)-shopping is so much fun! I've put together a few lovely outfits for under $20 on my op-shopping adventures 🙂

  2. Katie says:

    The lace on the back of that top really is perfect – a good detail without skin really showing through. A really good find!

    My outfits would definitely be pricier – I have a really hard time finding thrift-store or cheap jeans that fit so I have to kind of invest in pricier jeans… and then I just wear them nonstop. So my outfit cost would be like 2/3 jeans and 1/3 every other thing I'm wearing.

  3. Ruth Torrijos says:

    I'm going to go with probably ten dollars at most! Everything I wear (except for maybe two pieces) is from the thrift store! It's awesome! I like the outfit! You're always so pretty 🙂

  4. Bridget NS says:

    My average total per outfit I wear normally is probably around $50-60. I spend about $30 on jeans (or $15ish on skirts), then add in a $10-$15 top and some $20-$30 shoes, and there you go. I get lots of use out of my clothes though, so the numbers aren't really as high as they sound! I haven't bought new jeans in probably 3 years! I do buy inexpensive clothes and shoes at the end of a season, but I don't really count those into this average because let's face it, $5 boots are out of the norm!

  5. Kate Allred says:

    My outfits are normally $20 or less. Most of my clothes come from thrift stores so that helps keep my apparel on a budget. Beautiful outfit! Thanks for posting. I always look forward to the next post.
    Kate

  6. Anonymous says:

    The average cost of most of my outfits (top, pants/skirt, and sometimes shoes) is probably 5 dollars! We shop the dollar rack at goodwill all the time 🙂

    I love your outfit! The design on the back is so beautiful, yet still modest. And a skirt like that is now on my to-buy or to-make list.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Cool!

    I keep most of my outfits at 20$… mostly 🙂 I love our thrift shop, once I got three really nice skirts, three very nice sweaters and two little outfits for my little brother, Grand Total: $21.63

    Rivka

  8. Anonymous says:

    I am the same Anonymous that replied most recently to the Coral + White outfit. My name is Annalise Ikeler. That's a really cool challenge; it must have been really fun. I especially love your shoes in that outfit — I love sandals but I have way too many shoes right now! Yes, I also do a lot of thrift shopping which I really like, because I always seem to find so many awesome clothes that I love! And isn't it great when you buy something at a thrift store then take it home and realize it matches perfectly with something else you have? I think my average outfit costs from $15 to $30 or so. But like I said, I love to sew too, and just yesterday I wore a beautiful sundress I had made last year but only got to wear once. It fits absolutely perfectly, and I got a lot of comments on it yesterday! I want to make another one like it soon. Anyway, you look great like always! (By the way I really liked your Study Your Face series; it really helped me a lot. Maybe you can do another one like that again soon?:)

  9. Anastasis Faith says:

    My sisters and I get A LOT of hand-me-downs (which we love!) from our friends. Almost all the rest of our clothes come from Plato's Closet! So nearly all of my outfits cost less than $20! Yesterday's church outfit (which I got a lot of compliments on) was probably only around $10!

Leave a comment